Canadian Jazz Pianist Bryn Roberts


beautiful compositions

The 27-year-old pianist lives in New York City where he works as a freelance jazz musician. Originally from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Roberts moved to Montreal in 1994 where he studied at McGill University.

After graduating with high distinction in 1998, Roberts madea name for himself playing with various Montreal musicians such as Joel Miller, Joe Sullivan, Andre White, Michel Donato and Charlie Biddle, while at the same time continuing his piano studies with noted New York pianist Fred Hersch.

In the summer of 2000, Bryn toured extensively in the US and the UK with Maynard Ferguson's big band, including a week-long stint at the famous Ronnie Scott's jazz club in London.

2001 saw the release of Roberts' debut as a leader entitled Present Tense. The CD featured saxophonist Seamus Blake, vibraphonist Stefan Bauer, bassist Fraser Hollins and Parisian drummer Karl Jannuska.

The group performed several times in Montreal and Toronto, including a show as part of the official competition of the Montreal International Jazz Festival. In autumn that year, he also recorded with saxophonist Remi Bolduc on his CD entitled Renaissance (Effendi).

Since moving to New York in 2001, Roberts has worked extensively both as a sideman and a leader. He toured Mexico as part of the 2002 Cervantino Festival with the Donny Kennedy quintet, and recorded with him for his CD Horizons.

He has played at many of New York's prestigious jazz clubs, including the Blue Note, Birdland, the Fat Cat and the 55 Bar, appearing with many of New York's top jazz musicians, including Seamus Blake, Ari Hoenig, Victor Lewis, Jochen Rueckert John Ellis and Melba Joyce.

He most recently toured Canadian jazz festivals in 2004 with his group featuring Will Vinson, saxophones, Matt Penman, bass and Mark Ferber, drums.

Roberts’ latest CD is Ludlow, featuring Seamus Blake, bassist Drew Gress and drummer Mark Ferber, soon to be released on the Fresh Sound/New Talent label.

Ludlow (BMR Records)

Bryn's second CD as a leader is now available, featuring a collection of new original compositions. On the disc, Roberts is joined by world-class musicians: Seamus Blake on tenor saxophone, Drew Gress on bass, and Mark Ferber on drums.

Recorded June 30, 2003 except #3 & #7 and February 22, 2004 #3 & #7 in Montreal, Canada.Produced by Bryn Roberts & Andre White Executive Puroducer Jordi Pojol.

Bryn Roberts (pf) Seamus Blake (ts) Drew Gress (b) Mark Ferber (ds)

  1. Ludlow 8:30
  2. Indie 5:47
  3. Fleure 4:33
  4. Corrigan 8:55
  5. Reruns 7:55
  6. Eau de Vie 7:12
  7. Dancing in the Dark 4:34
  8. Hagamos un Trato 5:55

All compositions by Bryn Roberts, except #7 by H.Dietz and A.Schwartz.


Present Tense is the debut CD by Bryn Roberts. It features New York saxophonist Seamus Blake, German vibraphonist Stefan Bauer, Paris-based drummer Karl Jannuska and Fraser Hollins on bass.

The album features Bryn`s original compositions, and a contemporary re-working of the jazz standard "Spring Is Here". The album was co-produced by Bryn Roberts with respected engineer and musician Andre White.

All About Jazz…A special site that covers the world of jazz music with news, reviews, forums, videos, MP3 downloads.
JAZZ.FM91…Canada's only not-for-profit radio station dedicated to jazz and the jazz community at large.
The Who…Their powerful beat made them one of the most influential bands in rock history.